Australian Institute of Architects 2022 Dulux Study Tour

Previous winners

2020 Dulux Study Tour Winners | Photographer: Tatjana Plitt

about the 2020 and 2021 winners

Sam McQueeney (Queensland): Originally from Tasmania, Sam has recently joined the Vokes and Peters practice in Brisbane, Queensland. The jury believes Sam will greatly benefit from taking part in the Dulux Study Tour, using the opportunity to further his passion as a leader and influencer within his new state of Queensland. 

Tahnee Sullivan (Queensland): Tahnee is a Director at Sullivan Skinner, an architecture and design practice established in November 2018. The jury commends Tahnee’s desire to learn and passion for shared knowledge and is confident the Dulux Study Tour will offer a rich and rewarding experience to help navigate her newly established architectural practice.

Ksenia Totoeva (NSW): Originally from regional NSW, Ksenia graduated from the University of Newcastle with the University Medal. The jury believes with Ksenia’s dynamism she will benefit greatly from the opportunity of the Dulux Study Tour and the lessons that this immersion in a range of practices will provide her continuing professional development and leadership potential.

Bek Verrier (Tasmania): Bek is a registered architect and project architect at Bence Mulcahy in Hobart. She graduated from the University of Tasmania and is actively involved in the Australian Institute of Architects’ Tasmania Chapter. Bek is Founding member of The Findlay Project, Tasmanian Women in Architecture group and is also heavily involved in Parlour Salon series.

Keith Westbrook (Victoria/Tasmania): Keith Westbrook is a director at Cumulus Studio where he runs the Melbourne office. His calm, considered approach to the practice of architecture and breadth of experience at an early stage of his career will benefit from exposure to, and engagement with, the practices and projects that will be visited during this year’s Dulux Study Tour.

Elizabeth Walsh (Tasmania): As an Associate and Project Architect at Cumulus Studio, Elizabeth distinguished herself with exceptional integrity and design excellence, strongly influencing the practice’s design direction while working on projects meriting National awards and international publication. 

Madeline Sewall (Victoria): Growing up in California and studying both at University of Florida and University of Melbourne, Madeline building on her community mindset with her work with Breathe Architecture in her role as Associate Head of Houses. 

Carly Martin (NSW): Carly is a Founding Director at Akimbo Architecture, a regional practice based in Albury-Wodonga. Throughout her career she has demonstrated a strong commitment to the community and is currently Co-Chair of the Border Architects’ Forum and Director of Affordable Housing at one of Victoria’s largest affordable housing providers, Beyond Housing. 

Simon Rochowski (NSW): Simon is a founding director of studioplusthree, an architecture studio based in Sydney, working across arts, cultural and architectural projects. Since its establishment in 2014, the studio has continued to explore a multi-disciplinary approach that combines quality, craft and innovation.

Nick Roberts (Victoria/Auckland): Nick Roberts is a founding director of his own fledgling practice, Roberts Gray Architects. He graduated at both Victoria University of Wellington and University of California, Berkeley, and has worked internationally including Auckland and Amsterdam (as a design leader at UNStudio). 

2019 Winners

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

Tour destinations


find out more

Maitland Riverlink | CHROFI with McGregor Coxall | NSW | Photographer: Simon Wood

Find out more about who can participate

King Bill | Austin Maynard Architects | Photographer: Derek Swalwell

Entry is open to all architects and graduates of architecture of up to 10 years from graduation of the AACA Accredited Master of Architecture degree (or equivalent).

Allianz Partners Workplace | BVN | Photgrapher: Christopher Frederick Jones
Allianz Partners Workplace | BVN | Photgrapher: Christopher Frederick Jones

All the details you need on how to enter.

Find out more about Previous Study Tour Participants

The 2018 Daryl Jackson Award | New Academic Street RMIT University | Lyons with NMBW Architecture Studio, Harrison and White, MvS Architects and Maddison Architects | Photographer: Peter Bennetts

All about the Dulux Study Tour 2020

2019 Dulux Study Tour winners on top of the Museum of Art Architecture and Technology | AL_A

Find out more about Previous Study Tour Participants

key dates

program entries open entries close
Australian Institute of Architect Dulux Study Tour Wednesday, 3 March Midnight, Tuesday 6 April


Bek Verrier

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Carly Martin

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Keith Westbrook

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Liz Walsh

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Madeline Sewall

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Nick Roberts

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Sam McQueeney

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

Simon Rochowski

Dulux Study Tour Report 2022

The Australian Institute of Architects Dulux study Tour is a collaborative initiative between Dulux Australia, the Australian Institute of Architects and
EmAGN (The Emerging Architects and Graduate Network).